SIOUX LOOKOUT OPP DETACHMENT BOARD MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, August 8, 2024 at 2:00 p.m. CDT This Meeting was held Virtually, via Zoom

(Recording Available Here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hxaltxYsnGc)

ATTENDANCE

Board: Ms. Darlene Angeconeb, Chair

Community Appointee, Sioux Lookout

Mayor Doug Lawrance,

Council Appointee, Sioux Lookout

Councillor John Millar,

Council Appointee, Pickle Lake

Mr. Robert Rasmussen,

Community Appointee, Pickle Lake

Vacant,

Provincial Appointee, Ministry of the Solicitor General

OPP: OPP Staff was not present, as the Board dealt with administrative

matters only.

Staff: Brian P. MacKinnon, Board Administrator,

CAO & Clerk, Municipality of Sioux Lookout

Lynda Colby, Deputy Board Administrator

Clerk, Township of Pickle Lake

Tiffany Thompson, Board Recording Secretary

Executive Assistant, Municipality of Sioux Lookout

Guest: Mary MacKenzie, Advisor

Special Projects Consultant, Municipality of Sioux Lookout

1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER – Darlene Angeconeb, Chair

a. Call Meeting to Order

Ms. Angeconeb called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.

b. Attendance/Motions to Excuse – Darlene Angeconeb, Chair

Ms. Angeconeb asked if there were any motions to excuse absent members.

B. MacKinnon advised that everyone was present at the meeting and therefore there were no motions to excuse.

2. LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

Mayor Lawrance provided the following land acknowledgement:

We are on the traditional territory of the Lac Seul First Nation within the area of Treaty 3 and that many of the people and communities we serve are in Treaties 5 and 9, Anishinaabe-Aski Nation.

3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

- a. Introduction of Amendments to the Agenda NONE
- b. Motion to Approve Agenda as Presented/Amended

SLODB-011-2024

Moved By: Mayor Lawrance Seconded: Mr. Rasmussen

THAT the Agenda for the August 8, 2024, Sioux Lookout OPP Detachment Board meeting be approved, as presented

CARRIED

4. DECLARATIONS OF PECUNIARY INTEREST - NONE

5. ADOPTION OF MINUTES – June 27, 2024

SLODB-012-2024

Moved By: Mr. Rasmussen Seconded: Councillor Millar

THAT the Minutes from the June 27, 2024 Sioux Lookout O.P.P. Detachment Board meeting be approved, as presented.

CARRIED

6. DELEGATIONS/PRESENTATIONS - NONE

7. ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION/REPORTS

- Staff Report -- Attendance at Joint Meeting of Ontario Association of Police Service Boards (OAPSB) Zone 1 and Ontario Association of Chiefs of Police (OACP), Thunder Bay, September 10-11, 2024
 - B. MacKinnon provided a summary of the Staff Report advising the Board of its opportunity to send members to the Joint Meeting of Ontario Association of Police Service Boards (OAPSB) Zone 1 and Ontario Association of Chiefs of Police (OACP) meeting September 10-11, 2024 in Thunder Bay.

The Board opted to send Mayor Lawrance, from the Municipality of Sioux Lookout and Mr. Rasmussen, from the Township of Pickle Lake to the conference.

SLODB-013-2024

Moved By: Mr. Rasmussen Seconded: Mayor Lawrance

THAT the Sioux Lookout OPP Detachment Board authorizes Doug Lawrance and Robert Rasmussen to attend the Ontario Association of Police Service Boards (OAPSB) Zone 1 Meeting, September 10-11, 2024, Thunder Bay, with necessary expenses allowed.

CARRIED

- b. Review and approval of Sioux Lookout OPP Detachment Board "Rules and Procedures"
 - B. MacKinnon reviewed the Sioux Lookout OPP Detachment Board Rules and Procedures with the Board members.

SLODB-014-2024

Moved By: Mr. Rasmussen Seconded: Ms. Angeconeb

THAT the Sioux Lookout OPP Detachment Board approves, adopts and implements the Rules and Procedures and Local Policy as presented at the August 8, 2024, Detachment Board Meeting.

CARRIED

8. NEXT MEETING DATE

September 24, 2024 at 2:00 p.m. CDT via Zoom, available on YouTube: https://youtube.com/live/2ThjH_6KKRA

9. MOTION TO ADJOURN

SLODB-015-2024

Moved By: Councillor Millar Seconded: Mr. Rasmussen

THAT the August 8, 2024 meeting of the Sioux Lookout OPP Detachment Board adjourn at 3:22 p.m.

CARRIED

Adopted as presented this 24th day of September, 2024.

Darlene Angeconeb, Chair

Brian P. MacKinnon, Board Administrator